The GMAT (Graduate Management Admission Test) is a standardized exam designed to predict how test takers will perform academically in MBA (Masters in Business Administration) programs. GMAT scores are used by graduate business schools to make admission decisions.

The GMAT seeks to measure four broad skill areas: analytical writing, quantitative reasoning, verbal reasoning, and integrated reasoning (which embraces analytical, quantitative, and verbal reasoning). The exam gauges these skills through four discete components, presented in the order listed here:

  1. a 30-minute Analytical Writing Assessment (one writing task)
  2. a 30-minute Integrated Reasoning section (12 multiple-choice questions, most of which are multi-part)
  3. a 75-minute Quantitative section (37 multiple-choice questions)
  4. a 75-minute Verbal section (41 multiple-cho  ice questions)
Section Score Range Mean Scores*
Analytical Writing Assessment 0-6 4.5
Integrated Reasoning 01-Aug 4
Verbal 0-60 27
Quantitative 0-60 38
Total 200-800 548

For each of the four exam sections, a separate scaled score and percentile rank are awarded. A combined Quantitative/Verbal score (called a Total score) and corresponding percentile rank are also awarded. The GMAT is not a pass/fail test.

Score validity: 5 yrs

Fee: $250 (INR 17,000 approximately)

Results: Available within 20 calendar days after you take the test.